S and me have been talking. About men. Or rather, the lack of them in our lives. She thinks it’s gotta do with the place we are in.
Minutes of our discussion over lunch-session in the last few weeks:
· The ‘macho’ guys are jerks.
· Or dopeheads.
· Or wannabes.
· The ‘nice’ ones are wuss
· Or colourless
· Or can’t ever really let go of mama’s apron strings.
Or they are dumb.
· The intelligent ones are Warped.
· Or so intelligent that they are misfits and really belong to a museum showcase than out walking and talking in the world.
· The ones who earn money are techie and nerdy.
· The artsy guys are fake.
· Or so ‘with it’ that they lose their sense of balance and think the ‘yo’ thing to do is to smoke up and be ‘with it’.
· Or give pseudo-intellectual bullshit on why ‘free love’ is okay. (Damn, can’t they even be original?)
End of lunch-session we finally ask ourselves the gut-wrenching, hopeless question, “Where are the sensible, balanced men?”
“ They don’t exist,” I say glumly scanning my mind for ONE man who’d fit the bill. And silently add to myself as an afterthought… “Or, they are hiding.”
“How do we bring them out?” I wonder.
“No the question is how do we bring out the right ones,”
“Yes, I agree,” I say. “The wrong ones are only too willing to agree.”
“That’s your fault,” she says. “ You are much too naïve. You look like you were born yesterday and you look like you are easy game.”
Me makes a mental note to go practice my “I’m-a-b****-so-don’t-you-dare-mess-with-me” look.
“REALLY NOW??” I ask astonished and eager to hear this out cos S can be very, very forthright. And I wanna hear the truth about me. Also, S has this way of looking at things from a guy’s perspective and I am eager to hear what she has to say.
She continues thoughtfully, “You always look so lost”.
Me makes a mental note to go practice my “I’m-a-big-girl-so-don’t-you-dare-mess-with-me” pout.
“Lost? Like how? Like I am in my own world?
“No, not quite like that” she says and I perk up my ears. “Well,” she says scanning my face, “The problem is you are all ‘eyes’. And when you are disturbed (which is almost always) they become so wide that you seem to be screaming “help” silently.”
AH HA!!!
Minutes of our discussion over lunch-session in the last few weeks:
· The ‘macho’ guys are jerks.
· Or dopeheads.
· Or wannabes.
· The ‘nice’ ones are wuss
· Or colourless
· Or can’t ever really let go of mama’s apron strings.
Or they are dumb.
· The intelligent ones are Warped.
· Or so intelligent that they are misfits and really belong to a museum showcase than out walking and talking in the world.
· The ones who earn money are techie and nerdy.
· The artsy guys are fake.
· Or so ‘with it’ that they lose their sense of balance and think the ‘yo’ thing to do is to smoke up and be ‘with it’.
· Or give pseudo-intellectual bullshit on why ‘free love’ is okay. (Damn, can’t they even be original?)
End of lunch-session we finally ask ourselves the gut-wrenching, hopeless question, “Where are the sensible, balanced men?”
“ They don’t exist,” I say glumly scanning my mind for ONE man who’d fit the bill. And silently add to myself as an afterthought… “Or, they are hiding.”
“How do we bring them out?” I wonder.
“No the question is how do we bring out the right ones,”
“Yes, I agree,” I say. “The wrong ones are only too willing to agree.”
“That’s your fault,” she says. “ You are much too naïve. You look like you were born yesterday and you look like you are easy game.”
Me makes a mental note to go practice my “I’m-a-b****-so-don’t-you-dare-mess-with-me” look.
“REALLY NOW??” I ask astonished and eager to hear this out cos S can be very, very forthright. And I wanna hear the truth about me. Also, S has this way of looking at things from a guy’s perspective and I am eager to hear what she has to say.
She continues thoughtfully, “You always look so lost”.
Me makes a mental note to go practice my “I’m-a-big-girl-so-don’t-you-dare-mess-with-me” pout.
“Lost? Like how? Like I am in my own world?
“No, not quite like that” she says and I perk up my ears. “Well,” she says scanning my face, “The problem is you are all ‘eyes’. And when you are disturbed (which is almost always) they become so wide that you seem to be screaming “help” silently.”
AH HA!!!

63 Comments:
The choices one has - The Wrong One's Versus No One! :)
ROFLMAO.............Punzel. that was too funny..
ok id say work on your
"look blank" look and then they'll stay away ....
p.s...Lets form a "DONT YOU DARE!" club..
SUPER! To sum it up… Mr. Right doesn’t exist!!!
Yeah, I mean y cant we jus be complete by ourselves. Y do we need a man to fill in the space?
But that doesn’t mean I’m gonna let go of this “intelligent = warped + earns money = teckie sans the nerd part” guy! :-p
Hmmmm... three women, talking about men. *Alarm goes off somewhere - Leave now, while you still can*. Braving on...
Jerks, goody two-shoes, dumb ones, smart ones, fake ones. Yup, that pretty much about covers every girl I know too ;) This whole world needs a fix.
:) sometimes mister right is waiting under your nose and it takes you two years to discover that!!!!!
yes i agree.. FIX them all.. lol
read this post by afishcalledgoonda -- http://afishcalledgoonda.rediffblogs.com/2005_30_01_afishcalledgoonda_archive.html#1107268653
...no point waiting for 'The Complete Man'to come and sweep you off your feet; it's better to look for someone who is 'the answer to all your Needs'
PRIMAL SOUP-yes....we need a species three....u know like a species x.hey!!u have inspired me!!!!thats what my next post is gonna be abt!!!species X!!
GRAFXGURL-*nods head vigorously*yep yep yep.u get there and we shall practice them looks till we ward off all the psychos and male bimbos :-O and as for the clulb, i'm game....!!u, me and...?kchen???:p
J-go get them gal!!!and when u've caged him...cage some of his frends too!!! :-D u know like heal the world and stuff? hmmmmmm....maybe u should join the club too......lets start perpetuating a higher level of intellience species.what say??
VIGNESH- :-D and what's your pick, eh?;-)
ESTE MISERIA-baby!!!!!!*sigh* ok, you can't join the club anymore :( but you can search for you-know-who's friends and help in the perpetuation of the more intelligent race :p
RAMCHI-lol.that would be 'species x' ramchi.*droooooooooooooooollllllllllll* species X btw is gonna be a mutant species....very exciting.oooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh *shivers me timbers* jus to think of 'em!!u a scientist, ramchi?wanna strike a deal??50% of da royalty will do :-D
GRAFXGURL- oh no no no.let the stupid gals be there girl!!!so that the men we want will realise how super cool WE are and we wont have competition from them!!!get it?!?!!?
SwB-*puzzled*and do i keep changing my man as my needs change???:-/
*I'll write a comment as soon as I get over this hysterical fit of laughter*
Ok ... now... Ahem !
You give new meaning to Darwin's The Origin of Species (teee hheee heee *silent laughter in my head*).
Wonder what I have evolved into?
Rap,
Yeah lets create a new species. Wait… no, do u think this ‘new’ species must have a higher level of intelligence? More than us women? Well, lower would make things boring, so lets make it equal.
Oh abt that guy… the only problem is he’s toooo much like me. So, I’m kinda wondering… u understand?
And he’s way too smart to gimme an intro with his friends. He knows wot I’m likely to do. :-p
Its lose if ya try, lose if ya dont deal.
I have done everything right before and failed.
Gah, its not a science at all. This game is bloody rigged.
I am kinda bored of it already.
Yaaaawwwwwnnnnn....
Good luck though.
Succeed, and show me its possible.
:)
Bloody lucky that I was born a guy.
The right hormones help us rebound much faster and with no visible scars.
I think...
And I think, too, about how bloody close it was. Just missed it by a whisker. One wrong chromosome, the Xs and the Ys not balancing out, and I would have been a chick.
And then what?
I would have become a poet instead of peddling mellow prose and laughtracks...
:) :) :) :o)
FIRST RAIN-*flutters eyelashes* ahem ahem!!how me gonna say that with this monstrous screen screening u off from ma sight??and darwin was a silly old man who retracted all his theories on his deathbed.bah!!!i am oodles more intelligent!
J-J, are u a traitor to 'the cause'??????kill him, i say shoot him!!!!and prove thyself a true errrr.....oh well...nevah mind!!!u one of 'em smug marrieds:-|
TWO PENNY-just in case u got it wrong, this is not a battle of the sexes!!!!whatevah gave u THAT idea. i love the opposite sex, i really do.only (A)i'd like another one to choose from (B) the ones i know are slightly boring (and thats all the men i've met so far) (c)if you know anybody who can show me its not rigged, bring him on *flutters eyelashes**tries not to blush* tisk tisk. hey two penny :p
As TP said, Im bored with picking. I picked, I soared high for the longest time and I came crashing down. Im scared to pick again. That bit about changing needs, I realise that was a joke here, but that was exactly what happened. Changing needs, static people. Damn, time to go cheer myself up....
grrl: And just how do we propose to do that ?
Rapz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good heavens! NO! I’m not one of those smugs. I cant even see myself married :-O
How can ppl jus be content with one ;)
yes thats a great start to a club id say.. make KC the prez and were set!! lol god help all the men..lol. poor things.. ..hahahha( am in the throes of death laughing so hard)
Yes, God help us all ;)
Good luck with the search.
VIGNESH-tsk tsk. since God is on your side, can we please use you as our guinea-pig?? :)
J-yaaaaaaaay!!!! u were born to join our club!!!keep working at it gal.....we can find one of them one-liner ad thingies that'll be our mantra:-O
GRAFXGURL- dont die baby, who'll feed me bytes??
LEPERCOLONY-does that mean you dont wanna put in ur resume??:-O
mmmm.. bytes..
(thankyou for not letting me eat them yesterday..) they were SO worth the wait..lol
i SO need a vacation..lol
Oh baby,
I’m game. *rubs hands in glee* when do we start?
Rapunzel, I never intended it to be a battle. Wonder how I managed to make it sound like one. There is too much fraternization between the opposing forces for this to qualify as a battle :)
And hey, cant say you didnt have your chance. hehe... :)
Vignesh, I am not scared. And I am not bored. I am just echoing you guys so that I can join the diljale frat (aka Heartburn Inc., *burp*) I heard that the chicks like to hang out there. Go fishing even. :))
hahaha...
I saw those fluttering eyelashes .... *totally taken in* ... but since you say the theory of evolution is all wrong, I wonder ....
Maybe I'll mutate when I get the time.
Heartburns, battle cries, guinea-pig guys left to the mercy of a woman singles club, a male favouring god, vacations, bytes - we have a really happy group of people here, crazy but really really happy! *Hearing a roaring applause in my head after that one*
Hey! bytes are cool !! dont be knocking dem!!
ROFLMAO... male favoring god..too funny..
btw....... First Rain youve bin linked.
GGURL-can pwomise u a vacation and a bite baby;-)
GGURL-ooooopssssie!!!!!ur typoism infecting me:-O i meant byte of korrs!!*leer*
J- just as soon as u get that award winning campaign ready, babe!!
TWO PENNy-awwwwwwww...............baby!!!!!!who broke dat heart of urs.behind all dem digs me see a bleeding heart.awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww......................come to mama, come! *muah*
FIRST RAIN-tisk tisk, a coupla weeks with me and you'll evolve alrite!!!pwomise, u'll grow up to be a fine l'il boy after all. though let me warn ya, i'm QUITE a handful:D
Blog kisses... Whoa!!! :) Them for the broken hearted?
If I tell you that I am not broken hearted, not by a million miles and one, You wont take it back, wouldja :)
Oh please please please.
hehe...
er, man eater on prowl?? ;)
What made you think God is on my side ??!?! Not by a long shot ! Guinea pig eh... depends... need I audition for the role or do have I already qualified ;)
Happy happy group indeed !
TP - just saying that I too agree that the game is rigged ;) Nothing else...
VIGNESH-all rite, maybe He isnt. But this is not about God honey, this is about you. and Oh!!!you cant take TP. TP is straight AND he is ALREADY taken:-D
MANUSCRYPTS-yum!yum!yum!!!! :p
TWO PENNY- dont beg, boy. you are forgiven. or do you wanna kiss (*blush*) and make up???*flutters eyelashes at TP* *first rain comes in**flutters eyelashes at him too* *wanna fight a duel, boys??**flutters eyelashes very very hard* *joined in by Ms.J and Grafxgurl**boys lose their heads**girls walk out with the trophies**and all that JUST for fluttering eyelashes* :-O
oops vignesh i left ya out dintchi??it's k.next time you can fight for us :D
Need I say anthin else after this:
" *wanna fight a duel, boys??**flutters eyelashes very very hard* *joined in by Ms.J and Grafxgurl**boys lose their heads**girls walk out with the trophies**and all that JUST for fluttering eyelashes* "
I wonder though what trophies you collected from boys who lost their heads? *I just can't seem to keep my mouth shut. Now I am gonna get beaten up again. Atleast my head won't hurt!*
*horrified* I JUST DONO HOW I MISSED THIS!!!!!!!!!!
I WANNA JOIN TOO I WANNA JOIN TOO I WANNA JOIN TOO!!!! :((
Princess, u dont take me...ill sit in front o da club gate all day long singing "No Good Man Left" till my voice turns hoarse *pouting*
FIRST RAIN-ma dear u r headless.therefore, u r forgiven for foot in the mouth syndrome cos without head u cant think. ur head is in my cupboard and thats where ur talking from. ur body...ghmmmm....we'll hunt for that.....i'll take you ...ooops!!i'll take ur head out for a walk this eve.we'll go search for ur body then:D
ELIXIR-*grin* put in ur resume baby:p lets see if you are REALLY HEARTLESS AND RUTHLESS...somehow, i think not;-)
Ah, the whole universe is against me... what, oh what, shall I do now !?!?
Men, I have only one thing to say -
'Hold your ground, hold your ground. Sons of Blogger, of Rediffblogs, my brothers. I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of women and shattered male egos, when the age of men comes crashing down, but it is not this day. This day we fight! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you *stand, Men of the Blogworld!*' - with due apologies to Lord Aragon of course.
VIGNESH-*yawn* eh???thats sposed to inspire those children to battle.*yawn* try again.
Children !?!?!? It saved Middle Earth woman ! Do you know what you insult here ?!?!? Not me, but JRR himself !!
This definitely means WAR !!!! ;)
*sigh* VIGNESH i meant ur cry for battle will inspire none to arms. the children in ur army dont get u.besides,using child soldiers is a gross violation of human rights:-D
Vignesh really wants to fight. Man, this way you will stay single forever :):)
Rapunzel, "AND he [TP] is ALREADY taken". WoW, and how did I miss that news? :)
Yesss... TP isnt taken then... *gleeeee*... oops.... I shouldn't have said it that loud... Damn ! ;)
Anyways, Oh Hirsute One, how about another post soon eh ?
any luck so far??
TWO PENNY-cos you were in my 'hirsute' arms TP. therefore, u missed the news.psssssttttttttttttt-----dontcha get it??am tryin to convince vignesh that you are straight.or wait a minute!!you arent???:-O DAMMIT!!
Me in some 'hirsute' arms. Queen Kong meets King Thong... hahaha :)
And I am straight. So dont go break your heart soooo soon. :)
Babe!
We need some bakras dont we? so do i start making a list of the one i have already? :-p
Psss: u know wot? when i get enthu, nothing can stop me! :-D
Post a Comment
<< Home