Monday, April 04, 2005

When people ask me if I am spiritual or materialistic, I never quite know what to say. It’s almost like the two are mutually exclusive…besides, I ain’t really sure what ‘spirituality’ means…. * sigh * there are so many versions of it these days that I am totally clueless…. And as for ‘materialism’…. Woh kya hain??

I like pretty things. Not just looking at them but possessing them!! For instance, if I had enough money, I’d love to re-design my house. Get loadsa pretty antique stuff. Fill it with crystal ware and flowers…have a beautiful garden…. throw in a fountain or two and loads of greenery…. have a nice sunny room looking out into a nice sunny lawn….a pebble path leading to a beach…I’d like nice quilts and pretty furniture…and nice, sunny crockery, pretty curtains….pretty carpets, pretty wall hangings, antiques by the dozen….

Nothing opulent. Just something pretty, cosy, a snug, quiet place I can call my own. I’d fill it up with books. All the old classics, all the old movies with popcorn and an LCD projector!!!

I’d have a nice rocking chair, a grand piano, create the old world charm…. I’d have poetry readings on the lawn in the evenings…. maybe Eliot and Shakespeare… I’d love to talk about Narnia and Tolkien and never never land…

Now, since I do not have money or the space to re-create my world, I simply have to make do with the one that has been handed over to me by my parents. Stuff that are merely functional and FAR from pretty. ‘Real’, ‘sturdy’ stuff built to handle the knocks of generations sigh ( I never can understand why pretty stuff are almost always fragile….?)

Sometimes, I content myself with shopping for pretty clothes and pretty accessories… but then, since I can’t see myself all the time, I’ve kinda figured that it’s a waste of time. So, does that make me materialistic or vice-versa??

A tells me that materialism implies mad rush for things, consumerism etc etc. and since I don’t dream money and think money, I am not materialistic….hmmmm…
But really, maybe, just maybe if I were an MBA or B.E. or whatever else the stuff that people make munny at, I’d probably have run around making it too!!

I know it doesn’t, but sometimes, I do wish money grew on trees L and all we had to do was work hard at climbing trees…cos I’d do it. I have always been rather a hard worker. Only I never seem to be inclined at working hard at the ‘right’ stuff (I mean the stuff that never would bring in munny)

Maybe, I should start…hmmm…..ugh!!! I do wish I’d buck up and write that Pulitzer-prize winning novel!! But I have this lurking suspicion…I doubt I’d be able to SUSTAIN interest even in money… its probably not having it that makes it so very attractive to me… ??

5 Comments:

Blogger ..:: J ::.. said...

how about spiritually materialistic... wanting to be spiritual is also a desire at the end of the day :)....i guess as long as u strike the right balance its the best of both worlds....

1:59 pm  
Blogger Twilight Fairy said...

a BE doesnt earn that kinda dough.. ask me :-|

6:16 pm  
Blogger J said...

When I read the first line, I was like….. hmm… I’m spiritualistic. But then when I reached the end… I told myself I’m both! :)

10:52 am  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

am both...no apologies :D

11:20 am  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

When people ask me if I am spiritual or materialistic I say I am BORED :)

3:51 pm  

Post a Comment

<< Home