I saw him from a distance. Smart, suave, and above all…intelligent. I dig intelligent men…they’re so difficult to find. More so, balanced, intelligent men.
Of course, intelligence per se isn’t so difficult to find. I should think that most of these MBA types are ‘intelligent’…or if you are more artistically inclined, go to an ad agency or a media house. You’ll find the glib intelligent sort there. The type who is so far gone into their intelligence that they’re keeling over to the ‘other’ side. I might have been attracted to that type a few years ago. I might have found them challenging.
But age tempers one down. And with this tempered down personality, G seemed to fight right in. Like I said, he was smart and intelligent. Nice, but not so nice that he couldn’t be naughty. And my parents liked him too.
I loved our conversations….but then suddenly he said something and I realized. I realized that he is the kind of man who belongs to a ‘type’ too…the ‘type’ who’d be attracted to an intelligent woman but would never marry her.
They’d be stimulated by the conversation (“intellectual” stimulation naturally) but deep down, they’d be intimidated. They’d admire a woman who has a mind of her own, leech off her mentally and often emotionally, but when it came to taking the girl home to Mama, they’d never do it.
Cos just like they were attracted, they’d just as equally be intimidated by the independence. They’d be intimidated by the fact that a girl didn’t really need him 24/7, that she didn’t make him the god of her universe because she had a life of her own, that her waking and sleeping thoughts didn’t revolve around him cos she had a vivid thought life that churned out much more than just his well-being.
When I realized that about G, I decided that I’d avoid the type. But somehow, I’ve been meeting a lot of the type recently. My mom says that I come across as being strong-headed and yes, intimidating. Cos guys want homely, she said.
Homely? What exactly does the word mean anyways? Can somebody please enlighten me? Is it someone who spends most of her time at home? Cos in that case I AM homely-- I like being at home with my small circle. Or is it someone who puts her home above everything else? Or is it a ‘home-maker’. Or is it about an attitude? What?
I strongly suspect that I wouldn’t be ‘homely’. Though I am not overtly fond of people, though I am not a social butterfly or a social anything, though I am the kind that would stay within the boundaries of my space….my ‘space’ would be too charged to ever really be homely.
People tell me that I think too much. About things that don’t really deserve much thought. Maybe, they’re right. But do I really need to change that? I mean, why should I? Give me one good reason. As far back as I can remember, I’ve been this way. Reflective. As long as I can remember, I remember me standing at a distance always. Watching, analyzing, thinking.
All through school, teachers sent for my parents asking me if things were ok at home cos I always looked so worried and preoccupied. They’d hold my forehead and try to smooth it down cos it was always furrowed and crinkled.
I never could make anybody understand that I was ‘just thinking’. Slow down, they used to say. Slow down the thinking. You aren’t carrying the world, you know. And I’d agree. My thoughts weren’t really DOING anything. It wasn’t changing the world. But I couldn’t stop. There’d be the non-stop activity.
I’ve learnt to tone things down though. For instance, I don’t crinkle my brows anymore. Also, I don’t freak people out by making a sudden random observation. Not random for me cos I’d have been thinking about it for the last few hours, but random for ‘them’ cos they had no idea where I was coming from.
So…though I’ve toned it down, I suppose people would be intimidated still. People like G. Cos heck if I am ‘just thinking’ how would I ever look after the kids and make dinner? How the heck would I remember to press his shirts and scratch his ears for him?
And so I’ve been asking myself—is it worth it? I agreed that my parents could “look out” for me. Mainly cos, I didn’t wanna be bothered with looking out for myself. I wanted to be able to focus on other things. Also, I didn’t wanna be emotionally involved. I didn’t wanna spend precious time investing into a “love” relationship, only to find that at the end we weren’t living “happily foreverafter.”
So, if marriage was about compatibility and companionship, it seemed ok to check out a few guys and figure if we were compatible and companionable. But after meeting so many ‘types’ I think the arranged marriage system is flawed. No, wait. Maybe it’s not the system that’s flawed…maybe, I am the one who is flawed for the system?
Cos in this system, people are always wondering what they can get out of it. And that’s fair enough…cos after all an “arranged” marriage is just a euphemism for a “marriage of convenience.” There’s no love involved…so taking cold, hard decisions would not really be cold or hard.
And I don’t think I am the kinda person who’d fit into someone’s preconceived notions or expectations…cos in an arranged marriage, I’ve realized there are certain rules. Like type A and type C go well. Type B and type D would be incompatible. And so on and so forth. And I think, maybe God forgot to make my type….
And since I saw him from a distance, I’ve been asking myself—do I need this? I mean, do I need marriage? If I were in love, of course, that’s a different issue. But if I am not in love, am I really that much in need for companionship, that I’m willing to make conscious sacrifices just to escape loneliness? Am I even EVER lonely? Do I need this for myself?
No. cos a) I am not lonely. B) I don’t need ‘emotional security’. I am beyond expecting that from another human being. C) Strange as it might sound, my relationship with God gives me all the comfort, companionship or whatever else it is that people need…I don’t really need anybody else to make me happy or complete me.
So WHY do I need to get married if I am not in love? Why compel myself to get hitched….when I don’t feel the NEED to simply cos my parents want it or simply cos everybody else around me is doing it?
Heck! That’s right. I don’t really NEED TO!!
Of course, intelligence per se isn’t so difficult to find. I should think that most of these MBA types are ‘intelligent’…or if you are more artistically inclined, go to an ad agency or a media house. You’ll find the glib intelligent sort there. The type who is so far gone into their intelligence that they’re keeling over to the ‘other’ side. I might have been attracted to that type a few years ago. I might have found them challenging.
But age tempers one down. And with this tempered down personality, G seemed to fight right in. Like I said, he was smart and intelligent. Nice, but not so nice that he couldn’t be naughty. And my parents liked him too.
I loved our conversations….but then suddenly he said something and I realized. I realized that he is the kind of man who belongs to a ‘type’ too…the ‘type’ who’d be attracted to an intelligent woman but would never marry her.
They’d be stimulated by the conversation (“intellectual” stimulation naturally) but deep down, they’d be intimidated. They’d admire a woman who has a mind of her own, leech off her mentally and often emotionally, but when it came to taking the girl home to Mama, they’d never do it.
Cos just like they were attracted, they’d just as equally be intimidated by the independence. They’d be intimidated by the fact that a girl didn’t really need him 24/7, that she didn’t make him the god of her universe because she had a life of her own, that her waking and sleeping thoughts didn’t revolve around him cos she had a vivid thought life that churned out much more than just his well-being.
When I realized that about G, I decided that I’d avoid the type. But somehow, I’ve been meeting a lot of the type recently. My mom says that I come across as being strong-headed and yes, intimidating. Cos guys want homely, she said.
Homely? What exactly does the word mean anyways? Can somebody please enlighten me? Is it someone who spends most of her time at home? Cos in that case I AM homely-- I like being at home with my small circle. Or is it someone who puts her home above everything else? Or is it a ‘home-maker’. Or is it about an attitude? What?
I strongly suspect that I wouldn’t be ‘homely’. Though I am not overtly fond of people, though I am not a social butterfly or a social anything, though I am the kind that would stay within the boundaries of my space….my ‘space’ would be too charged to ever really be homely.
People tell me that I think too much. About things that don’t really deserve much thought. Maybe, they’re right. But do I really need to change that? I mean, why should I? Give me one good reason. As far back as I can remember, I’ve been this way. Reflective. As long as I can remember, I remember me standing at a distance always. Watching, analyzing, thinking.
All through school, teachers sent for my parents asking me if things were ok at home cos I always looked so worried and preoccupied. They’d hold my forehead and try to smooth it down cos it was always furrowed and crinkled.
I never could make anybody understand that I was ‘just thinking’. Slow down, they used to say. Slow down the thinking. You aren’t carrying the world, you know. And I’d agree. My thoughts weren’t really DOING anything. It wasn’t changing the world. But I couldn’t stop. There’d be the non-stop activity.
I’ve learnt to tone things down though. For instance, I don’t crinkle my brows anymore. Also, I don’t freak people out by making a sudden random observation. Not random for me cos I’d have been thinking about it for the last few hours, but random for ‘them’ cos they had no idea where I was coming from.
So…though I’ve toned it down, I suppose people would be intimidated still. People like G. Cos heck if I am ‘just thinking’ how would I ever look after the kids and make dinner? How the heck would I remember to press his shirts and scratch his ears for him?
And so I’ve been asking myself—is it worth it? I agreed that my parents could “look out” for me. Mainly cos, I didn’t wanna be bothered with looking out for myself. I wanted to be able to focus on other things. Also, I didn’t wanna be emotionally involved. I didn’t wanna spend precious time investing into a “love” relationship, only to find that at the end we weren’t living “happily foreverafter.”
So, if marriage was about compatibility and companionship, it seemed ok to check out a few guys and figure if we were compatible and companionable. But after meeting so many ‘types’ I think the arranged marriage system is flawed. No, wait. Maybe it’s not the system that’s flawed…maybe, I am the one who is flawed for the system?
Cos in this system, people are always wondering what they can get out of it. And that’s fair enough…cos after all an “arranged” marriage is just a euphemism for a “marriage of convenience.” There’s no love involved…so taking cold, hard decisions would not really be cold or hard.
And I don’t think I am the kinda person who’d fit into someone’s preconceived notions or expectations…cos in an arranged marriage, I’ve realized there are certain rules. Like type A and type C go well. Type B and type D would be incompatible. And so on and so forth. And I think, maybe God forgot to make my type….
And since I saw him from a distance, I’ve been asking myself—do I need this? I mean, do I need marriage? If I were in love, of course, that’s a different issue. But if I am not in love, am I really that much in need for companionship, that I’m willing to make conscious sacrifices just to escape loneliness? Am I even EVER lonely? Do I need this for myself?
No. cos a) I am not lonely. B) I don’t need ‘emotional security’. I am beyond expecting that from another human being. C) Strange as it might sound, my relationship with God gives me all the comfort, companionship or whatever else it is that people need…I don’t really need anybody else to make me happy or complete me.
So WHY do I need to get married if I am not in love? Why compel myself to get hitched….when I don’t feel the NEED to simply cos my parents want it or simply cos everybody else around me is doing it?
Heck! That’s right. I don’t really NEED TO!!

45 Comments:
R,there is someone for you, who will fit you perfectly.until then, everybody else will seem wrong. when you find him, you'll realise once more how right you are and that he's so right for you that everybody else is wrong:)i can witness to that.dont think i could be with anyone else except P.
that was me!
marriage marriage...zzzzzzz...
so now you're stealing my thoughts and life... ??? share share. didn't know we shared this too..
Rapunzel,
which homely are you?
1. Not attractive or good-looking: a homely child.
2. Lacking elegance or refinement: homely furniture.
3. Of a simple or unpretentious nature; plain: homely truths.
4. Characteristic of the home or of home life: homely skills.
:-)
If I had to guess, I would say you're the 3rd.
Thank you for sharing this, you were so honest and beautiful~
take care baccha.
(dont know why im saying this but i am.)
question 1-are any cut and dried answers?
question 2- do i know the replies?
"dunno" to both.
austere
G is the looooooooooooozer who wanted someone who was "called to be a housewife with 5 kids" right????hahahahahahaha.puhleezze!!!! what kind of a loser would tell that to a girl he was meeting for an arranged marriage?
hey,
was just browsing by when i came across ur post
i have no thoughts per se, but somehow after reading ur post, im reminded of the bacardi song
"be what u wanna be...
taking things the way they come...
nothing is as nice as finding paradise,
and sipping on bacardi rum..."
regards,
vn.
and everyone's Da Vinci !
Why do people marry?
I dont think they wanna figure that one out just yet :P
But I might say there's more to it than those of us that "dont wanna marry" wanna think
but still lesser than those of us who just "have to marry" believe.
Marriage..
is it about 2 people staying together?
or looking out for each other?
having kids together? (let's say that's an offshoot).
having someone to "talk to"? (one of the most common bullshitty thingie i come across).
companionship? (akin to the previous point... somehow doesnt sound so bullshitty anymore).
If i really WANT to be with the one i so desperately LOVE (blah blah..just insert the whole "love" feeling here and everything) who I crave and everything. If i really just want to be with that person and spend my life with that person...
what does it really mean?
what's marriage in that context?
what's live in?
what am i talking about ?!
Studies, Finding a good job and marriage are the most over-hyped events. A quarter of our life is spent on these. Don't let the hype get you. So, what have I said that you didn't know already?
Dee-i couldn't imagine you with anybody else either :) but then again, thats one of the many peculiarities about love. when you're with taht person, it does seem like there could be no life without him/her....but then, he/she goes away and you realise that you're still alive after all.
but i could be wrong after all...
KUNAL-lol. mmmmm...one day you'll be eating those words, i can bet!
METHINKS-i am telling you, its more than uncanny:-|its downright spooky.now i'm gonna get spooked out when i visit your page;-)
EVENSTAR-:)geeee!thanks girl!the 3rd one doesnt seem so bad, eh? i think i'll settle for that one too;-)
AUSTERE-and i wonder if theres any point in asking questions when you know that you dont have the answers and prob never will. should one swallow down the questions or just go ahead and ask it anyways?and please will u leave me ur link??i've lost my blogroll.
K-lol.hush!i decide to let on only so much and then u come and blab.sheesh.stupid woman!
MAVERICK-i am always amazed at how the human mind works:-/
EASTMANCOLOUR-i dont have a problem with marriage. i am glad there is marriage cos otherwise i might never have been, but i am just wondering why get married just for teh sake of getting married. if i were in love, i'd WANT to get married.not just live in cos marriage is a commitment and commitment makes love seem so much more real.
am just questioning the concept of marriage as a "long term investment"
studies:my motto- do it to the best of my ability and never stop studying.
job: my motto-never mind what the job is, just give my best to it.
marriage-yet to figure that one out...
had the same issues when i was out on the market. i tried to figure it all out, but before i drove myself insane with all the analyses, a frenchman rescued me. trust me princess, your man will come now and like me you'll embark on a wonderful journey!
you got me wrong..it wasnt the idea of marriage that got me dozing, it was the talk of it...and after id left your blog, it did have me thinking...and i have something to say...
smart and intelligent men are very attractive..but then you have second thoughts..cos they are 'too' independent...they dont fit into types...that they will not follow accepted ways of the world...will they be the providers...will they respect my parents...mavericks that are prone to risks and thrills that might look cheap...and they have a past that you cant come to terms with...at one point where you saw all the goods, you start seing all the bads...and then you sit down and wonder whether you were a fool, chasing a dream, came up with illusions and then you try finding a reason...and when there is none you perceive, you feel that you got a raw deal...
dont mean it personally, rapz, just arbit general thoughts...
शक्ती-french man?!?!?wowie! exotic!!say, he doesnt have a bro does he??;-) j/k :p
KUNAL-nope, i wont take it personally.but something tells me that comment came from personal experience.
i know what u mean...but arent you being a bit stereotypical when you make 'smart' and 'intelligent' synonymous with maverick? i do have a problem with the usual connotation of maverick cos i find that most times they are breaking the rules just to break rules and tehy do it so religiously that they really arent all that maverick anymore...jus wannabe mavericks.
i know plenty of smart and intelligent men who are original...only they're already hitched:-| and most times to MY girlfriends:p
Heck you do not need to change.. Homely is something which is far away from me too.. yet I found my kind of guy..
hhahaha I do that often.. random observations.. in fact i am quite wierd and have no qualms about it..
If you search you will get your type of no holds barred guy who will love you for what you are...
do not lose hope and yourself.. in the pressure of what needs to be and what should be and what you are..
Hugsssss
he does have a brother. promised to someone else. but my point is the right man shows up when you least expect it.
i used to gravitate towards those intelligent, well-read (often married) types as well. till i realised that after meeting my husband that while that's great for some evenings of stimulating conversation, what you really want is someone who cares about you.
someone who'll love you when you're dying of fever and still think you're the most beautiful woman in the world.
someone who respects you and lets you be. just the way you want.
and someone who makes you feel good about yourself by being a part of your life.
PALLAVi-hehehehe.my mom says i am the most eccentric person she's ever known among 'normal' people;-))coming from a psychologist, thats quite a compliment:-O
शक्ती -oh dear!i DID tell yyou i was kidding right? i've forgotten my french so wouldnt know what to talk to him in:-| yes, i did get your drift. was just being smart-ass.
though i identify with you in the whole confusion..but well ... no gyaan. your battle is yours to fight and noone can help you there. we share our thoughts with the background of our own individual frames of reference. hope you emerge a winner :)
I run away from everyone who even gives me an inkling that you should marry just because... !
Prince: So what happens after the prince climbs the tower and rescues the princess?
Princess: She rescues him right back.
:-)
yup, random observations really freaks people out and noone believes that it really doesnt need much thought when we have really been thinking all our lives.
Type A, Type B, Type D... the ETS people could use that for the GRE papers! :) But hang in there kiddo. Things usually turn out to be stable. Maybe not good or bad but stable yes!
Hey Rapunzel,
Nobody who is financially and emotionally independent *needs* marriage. Fiercely independent men/women know this very well. But they want to get it over with perhaps because of parental pressure, peer pressure or simply to have kids and a family. And hopefully to a woman/man they like (intelligent, rich, smells good etc). Fair enough.
But a few wrong things are ingrained in the Indian mind. This MUST change.
1. The woman leaves her house to stay in the guy's house post-marriage.
2. And very often with *his* parents.
3. And becomes a part of *his* family and takes *his* sir-name. The Kanya-daan funda runs deep in our minds.
4. If there is to be a sole bread-earner in the family, it has to be the male.
You were equals in the relationship and suddenly you see the scales tilting. Chauvinistic yes, but the men aren't interested in changing this setup just yet.
The intelligent and independent women feels threatened by it. She feels she is making a sacrifice by leaving the comforts of her house. She thinks "Why live in his house when we can live in mine?" She rightly wonders "Shouldn't he be a part of my family as much as I am of his?". Everything else that follows, she sees as a threat to her independence, an assault on her intelligence if for example
the man does not want her to smoke or not wear tank tops.
Now the woman has a choice:
- Accept these deep-rooted male-dominated ways instead of feeling threatened by them (Most average women do this. They are called "homely". All is hunky and dory if we have established the peck order.)
- Open fire on the chauvinistic male and drive him away for good! (These get labelled "strong-headed".We know we are chauvinistic. We don't need you to tell us that!)
- Work with the man towards changing the setup. Ideally, this would be the best way to go. Things won't change overnight, but they can be made to.
Ciao,
Jax
you know R? i've been thinking. and praying after i read this that God will show you the way. all i can tell you is just wait. and watch.and in the mean while, enjoy the moment to the fullest without wondering about people's expectations.
i know that when it comes to the moment, you will do the right thing. but you need to have trust in your own decisions. you trsut God but you also have to learn to trust yourself to do the right thing.
MR QUIPSTER-the quip of reason. i agree with that frames of reference thing you know...
SANITY STARVED-but where do you run to pidus?
MITESH VASA- :)is that from shrek?i know i've seen the movie that line is from....
VIJAY-yeah...i always thought everybody was like that too.but the way people find fault with you for thinking, you'd feel like you were some different kind of species.
GREY SHADES-stable? how does one define stability?also, stable can sometimes be equivalent to 'unchanging' and 'staid. i'd prefer peace,kiddo :)
JAX-u know you have this bad, bad habit of making a lot of sense??:)
K-K, you're right. you're so right. that warmed my heart.thank you.and thank you for saying that when the moment comes, i do the right thing. i've been wanting exactly that reassurance. *warm tight hug*
you are right...i used the wrong word, maverick, for those kind of men...but i still think that way...and yeah, experiences make a man what he is...though dont read too much into it...cos in a different mood, I just might end up contradicting myself...as they say, 'still discovering life'...
movie - pretty woman
hey rapunzel..
am visiting ur blog the first time, really wish I had done that sometime back..
I agree with u completely...'love' is such a misused word...am beginning to think so is 'marriage'..end of the day, arranged marriage is for 'convinience' too...couldnt agree more with u..
just passing by :
But i love this post!! its so well written!
Post a Comment
<< Home